Log in

Committed to preserving and promoting community banks,their franchise values and the communities they serve...

About Us

What is a Community Bank?

A community bank is any state or federally chartered bank or thrift with its charter located in the State of Arkansas. It is locally owned and locally controlled. These institutions either serve a single county, contiguous counties or counties statewide and make the majority of their loans in the trade areas from which their deposits are gathered. They prescribe to the philosophy of independent community banking as evidenced by their actions and support.

Mission Statement

The Arkansas Community Bankers Association is committed to preserving and promoting community banks, their franchise values and the communities they serve.

ACB History

In 1980 a small group of like-minded independent bankers banded together to charter the Arkansas Independent Bankers Association. These pioneers in Arkansas banking represented some 65 independent community banks throughout our State. In 1993 the name of the association was officially changed to the Arkansas Community Bankers Association. In May 1995 the membership voted to allow Arkansas based thrifts to be members of ACB. Today ACB serves all community banks and thrifts in Arkansas.

ACB created its niche in the bank products and services arena. Today, Community Bank Services, Inc. endorses or promotes over 35 Preferred Solutions Providers and Associate Members offering hundreds of products, services and solutions to our member banks. The annual volume purchased by the participating banks exceeds $375 million.

ACB was instrumental in the organization and chartering of the Arkansas Bankers’ Bank in 1990. The purpose was to create and provide an alternative source for correspondent banking services for independent community banks. It was the sixteenth bankers’ bank to be organized in the country and the first to over subscribe its stock offering.  The Arkansas Bankers’ Bank was the forerunner to the First National Bankers’ Bank.

ACB provides a strong voice for legislative issues on the state and national levels. Under the maxim “no lobbyist is as effective as a constituent”, the ACB LegislativeWatch is an electronic messaging service provided to member bankers to encourage contact with state and congressional delegations to express their views on issues related to community banking.

ACB supports bank ownership that is indicative of a philosophy supportive of the ideals that maintain local community commitment and resists entities that threaten the existence of community banks. These objectives will be accomplished through regulatory, legislative, educational and earnings improvement programs available to ACB members. Such programs will be developed, initiated and executed by the leadership of the Arkansas Community Bankers Association. National and state level changes in the banking industry, both actual and proposed, will be monitored on a continuing basis and the Arkansas Community Bankers Association will respond to such change in a manner that will best protect and preserve community bank principles.       

ACB Board of Directors

Kyle Baltz  |  RiverBank  |  Pocahontas

John Beller  |  Bank of Cave City  |  Cave City 

Rebekah Biernacki  |  First Financial Bank  |  El Dorado

Casey Cullipher  |  RiverWind Bank  |  Searcy

Byron Earnheart   |  Barret School of Banking  |  Memphis, TN

Jim Gowen, Jr.  |  Merchants & Planters Bank  |  Newport  

Gary Head  |  Signature Bank  |  Fayetteville

Craig Manatt  |  Peoples Bank  |  Sheridan

Kim Markland  |  Bank of Little Rock  |  Little Rock

Landi Mkhize  |  Chambers Bank  |  Danville

Gary Oltmann  | Southern Bancorp Bank  |  Stuttgart 

Chris Padgett  |  Arkansas Community Bankers  |  Little Rock

Michelle Reesor  |  First Community Bank |  Batesville

David Scruggs  |  Today's Bank  |  Fayetteville

Marty Sellars  |  FNBC Bank  |  Ash Flat 

Ed Wilkinson  |  Farmers Bank  |  Greenwood

ACB Officers & Executive Committee

President    John Beller  |  Bank of Cave City  |  Cave City

Vice President  Kyle Baltz  |  RiverBank |  Pocahontas

Treasurer  Ed Wilkinson  |  Farmers Bank |  Greenwood

Secretary  |  Marty Sellars  |  FNBC Bank |  Ash Flat

Immediate Past President   Gary Head  |  Signature Bank  |  Fayetteville

ICBA Federal Delegate  Jim Gowen, Jr.   |  Merchants & Planters Bank  |  Newport

Executive Director  |  Chris Padgett  |  Arkansas Community Bankers Association |  Little Rock

ACB Staff & Professional Support

Chris Padgett  |  Executive Director  |  Little Rock  

Jim Gowen, Jr.  |  ICBA Federal Delegate  |  Merchants & Planters Bank, Newport 

Tim Grooms  |  General Counsel  |  Little Rock  

Quattlebaum, Grooms & Tull  |  Bank Regulation  |  Little Rock  

FORV/S  |  Regulatory Compliance  |  Little Rock

Ellis Tucker & Aldridge |  Tax & Accounting  |  Little Rock/Cabot

Arkansas Bank Demographics

 Except for official announcements, the Arkansas Community Bankers Association Board of Directors, Officers and staff disclaim any
 responsibility for opinions expressed and statements posted on the Arkansas Community Bankers Association website.  Please note 
 that by  using some of the links on our pages, you will be leaving the Arkansas Community Bankers Association website.  As a service
 and for informational purposes only, ACB may provide listings of and/or links to third party web pages/publications maintained by the
 U.S.  Government, internet retailers, organizations and others.  ACB does not monitor and is not responsible for the content or 
 administration of these outside websites or pages.  No part of this website may be reproduced without express written permission. 
 © 1990 - 2024 by the  Arkansas Community Bankers Association.  All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software